top of page
  • Writer's pictureBCSD

BCSD Celebrates Local School Board Members

BCSD Board Members receiving their recognitions.

The Baldwin County School District is joining in a statewide celebration this week to salute the efforts of our local school board members. The week of March 18-22, 2019 has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. The weeklong observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education.

“Citizens elect board members to represent the community’s voice on education matters and to set the vision for the school district,” said Dr. Noris Price. “Our school board members spend countless hours fulfilling their responsibilities and working together to continually improve our education system.”

“As the men and women, citizens elected to represent constituents in public education matters, school boards represent a continuing commitment to local citizen control and decision-making in education,” said Dr. Noris Price.

The men and women serving our school district and their years of service are:

Ms. Shannon Hill, Chair (District 2) 2 years

Mr. Lyn Chandler, Board Vice Chair (District 3) 6 years

Dr. Gloria Wicker (District 1) 8 years

Mr. Wes Cummings (District 5) 8 years

Mr. John Jackson (District 4) 10 years

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.

The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) sponsors the celebration. The mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education. Please join us in thanking our school board members for their dedication and commitment to the Baldwin County School District.

83 views0 comments
bottom of page