• BCSD

Congratulations to our REACH Scholars Cohort of 2017!

2017 REACH Cohort with our local elected officials.

Congratulations to Tyler Butts, Cady Dominy, Meonshae Hooks, Jamari Hughes, Jaquan Moore, Khala Porter and Carmea Williams on being selected as the 2017 REACH Scholars Cohort!

Yesterday, seven outstanding students at Oak Hill Middle School and their families picked up their pens and signed on to the commitment of being the next cohort of REACH Scholars for Baldwin County. REACH is a specially designed needs-based scholarship program put into effect by Governor Deal that provides recipients a $10,000 scholarship to be used at any University System of Georgia, Technical College System of Georgia or eligible private postsecondary institution.

While this day was about the students and their commitments to the rigorous academic and behavioral standards, we also want to thank the dozens of community members and elected officials who came out to show their support, some of them taking the extra step and sponsoring these students financially per the framework of the REACH program.

These scholars represent the hope and power that education can have on an individual and this program represents all that we can achieve as a community when leaders come together in support of such a worthy cause. Together, we’re building a brighter Baldwin.


117 views0 comments