• BCSD

January's Pursuit of Excellence Winners

January's pursuit of excellence winners flanked by Dr. Price and board members John Jackson and Dr. Gloria Wicker

Congratulations to the following employees who are the January 2018 recipients of the Pursuit of Excellence Award for the Baldwin County School District.

Ms. Brandi Mason Paraprofessional at the Early Learning Center Nominated by Lori Smith, Director of the Early Learning Center

Ms. Brandi Mason not only offers support as a paraprofessional to students in the classroom at the Early Learning Center but she also ensures their safety to and from school in her duties as a bus operator. Her deep concern for the wellbeing of students is expressed in her Pursuit of Excellence nomination in which she is described as going above and beyond her duties as a bus operator to ensure that the youngest students in the school district are kept safe and are provided with the necessary resources for a safe and healthy environment, Ms. Mason, thank you for your example of excellence!

Ms. Jayne Rourke Instructional Coach at Lakeview Academy

Nominated by Margaret Owens, Behavior Specialist at Midway Hills Academy Ms. Jayne Rourke is described as a hard worker who works diligently to support students as they focus on using and developing their social emotional skills. Her work to support students includes collaborative working relationships with teachers, school counselors and other administrative personnel to ensure that students receive the necessary services and interventions to be as successful as possible in the school setting during the RTI process. Ms. Rourke, thank you for modelling excellence!

Ms. Mary Simpson

Paraprofessional at Lakeview Primary School Nominated by Brit Gardner, Teacher at Lakeview Primary School Ms. Mary Simpson has been supporting the students and families of Baldwin County for over twenty years. In her role as a paraprofessional, Ms. Simpson encourages all of her students to reach for the stars and supplies the tools to help each student to be successful. Ms. Simpson may also been seen greeting students and families each day at the front of the school building as students arrive to school. She arrives early and stays past the normal school day working in her role as an After School Program teacher where she provides enrichment activities to students. Ms. Simpson, thank you for being a shining example of excellence!

Ms. Dimitra Veal

Teacher at Oak Hill Middle School Nominated by Dr. Gerard Lary, Teacher at Oak Hill Middle School Ms. Dimitra Veal is described in her nomination form as being a self-motivated educator with a good sense of humor. She is commended for her ability to teach students to the students’ strength and abilities. She is also noted for incorporating technology into her lessons and enhancing the online learning experience for students. An example of her willingness to go above and beyond is evident in her work as the yearbook coordinator for the school. Ms. Veal, thank you for your example of excellence!

Pursuit of Excellence Award Program

The Baldwin County School District Pursuit of Excellence Award, an employee recognition program, is presented monthly to employees who go above and beyond the call of duty. A maximum of four employees are chosen monthly and recognized during the regular Baldwin County Board of Education Meeting.

Application Process

Any Baldwin County School District employee is eligible for nomination, so long as they have not previously received the award. Team or groups are not eligible for recognition. Nominations may be made by any BCSD employee, student, parent, or community member. Nominations are due by the third Tuesday of each month (employees will be recognized the following month). Nomination forms will be available online or at the BCSD office.

Nominations will be reviewed monthly by the Selection Committee. The committee will consist of the Superintendent, the Human Resources Director, Assistant Superintendent, Maintenance Director, Transportation Director, Nutrition Director and the prior month's award winners. The award winners will rotate off each month as the new winners are awarded.

If a nominee is not chosen for recognition one month, his/her nomination may be forwarded to the next month at the discretion of the selection committee.

All recipients of the Pursuit of Excellence Award will be recognized on the district's website and at the monthly Board of Education Meeting.

We have many dedicated employees in our district. Please consider nominating a colleague for this award.

65 views0 comments