top of page

BCSD Recognizes School Board Appreciation Week

The Baldwin County School District is joining in a statewide celebration to acknowledge the work and dedication of local school board members. The week of March 13-17, 2023, has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. This weeklong observance calls attention to the positive contributions made by local boards of education. The school board members are elected to represent our community’s voice on education matters. They invest countless hours fulfilling their responsibilities and working together to continually pursue excellence in our school district and community.

The Baldwin County School Board has been recognized by the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) as an Exemplary School Board for seven years in a row for its exemplary leadership and dedication to education. The Board exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn the honor of 2022 Exemplary Board. Board of Education members currently serving our school district are:

Dr. Gloria Wicker, Board Chair (District 1)

Ms. Shannon D. Hill Board Vice-Chair (District 2)

Mr. Lyn Chandler (District 3)

Mr. Wes Cummings, (District 5)

Mr. John N. Jackson, (District 4)

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system, and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate, and decide what actions are in the best interest of students.

24 views0 comments


bottom of page