top of page
  • Writer's pictureBCSD

Dr. Noris Price Named the 2022 Georgia Superintendent of the Year!

Updated: Dec 7, 2021

Mr. Wes Cummings, Board Chair, Mr. John Jackson, Board Vice-Chair, Dr. Gloria Wicker, Board Member, Dr. Noris Price, Superintendent of Schools, Ms. Shannon D. Hill, Board Member, and Mr. Lyn Chandler, Board Member.

Congratulations to Dr. Noris Price who was named the 2022 Georgia Superintendent of the Year during the combined Georgia School Superintendents Association (GSSA)/Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) Annual Conference on December 2, 2021. Dr. Price will now compete for the National Superintendent of the Year Award. If chosen, this will be announced at the AASA Annual Conference in February 2022.

Each year, GSSA calls for and accepts Superintendent of the Year nominations from local school boards, Regional Education Service Agencies (RESA), business organizations and communities, and education colleagues from all over the state of Georgia. The nomination and selection process spans several months before the four finalists are selected to compete for the Georgia Superintendent of the Year. Dr. Jason Branch (Oconee County Schools), Dr. Steve Smith (Bleckley County Schools), and Dr. Wes Taylor (Lowndes County Schools) were the other finalists this year.

According to GSSA, ​each finalist has been singled out for their leadership abilities and their excellent skill set in working with their boards, staff, parents and local communities. Having outstanding communication skills seems to be a theme amongst this distinguished group of experienced educational leaders. They all face challenges and do so with high integrity and dynamic and supportive leadership styles. They have risen to the top of their profession for a very good reason. They all strive to create a kinetic and innovative educational environment for students to be successful.

"Words cannot truly express how humbled I am to receive this incredible honor and recognition. The superintendent of the year award is not about me. I have one amazing team in my corner who is doing great work. This award would not be possible without the entire Baldwin County school community. I am thankful to have an exemplary school board, dedicated employees, wonderful students, and supportive parents and community members," said Superintendent Dr. Noris Price.

In Baldwin County, we are committed to removing barriers, establishing positive relationships, connecting students and families to community resources, and working to ensure our students achieve at high levels and are successful in life. Together, we do whatever it takes to ensure that ALL students, regardless of their race, ethnicity, socio-economic status, or the challenges they may face have what they need to realize their full potential. We remove barriers and create as many opportunities as possible for our students to succeed.

"I am fortunate to be able to get up every day, and do what I love--work that is meaningful and serves a purpose. I love making a difference," said Superintendent Dr. Noris Price.

71 views0 comments
bottom of page