• BCSD

BCSD Board Receives Exemplary Honor

Board members receiving their recognitions.

The Baldwin County School District is proud to announce that the Board of Education was recognized by the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) as a 2019 Exemplary Board for the third year in a row at the GSBA Annual Conference and Delegate Assembly in Savannah.

The recognition program is designed to showcase best practices in school governance and leadership. GSBA recognizes good school board governance to foster educational community cultures in order to advance student learning and achievement.

The Baldwin County Board of Education exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn the honor of a 2019 Exemplary Board. The criteria may be reviewed by clicking here for more information. This year, 55 of the 180 public school boards earned the Exemplary Board status.

Congratulations to the Baldwin County School Board for receiving this honor. Board Members are: Dr. Gloria Wicker (District 1), Shannon Hill (District 2), Lyn Chandler (District 3), John Jackson (District 4) and Wes Cummings (District 5).

The GSBA Governance Team Recognition Program was developed by Georgia superintendents and board members based on the state board of education’s standards for effective governance to recognize exemplary leadership.

In 1998, the Georgia School Boards Association was one of the first school board associations in the nation to develop a program of standards for local boards of education.

The GSBA Board recognition program is a three-tiered program. For more information on the program you may visit the GSBA website for awards and recognition or click here to view the criteria for all tiers of the program.

57 views0 comments