• BCSD

Baldwin STAR Students and STAR Teachers Honored during Milledgeville-Baldwin County Chamber Event

Congratulations to Baldwin High School STAR Students Diana Cazacu and Johnny Pulliam who were recognized during the STAR Student Annual Luncheon. Diana and Johnny both selected one educator as their STAR Teacher, someone who has had a significant influence on their academic achievement. Baldwin’s Cazacu selected Jessica Thompson while Pulliam chose Damita Jones. The Milledgeville-Baldwin County Chamber is the proud sponsoring organization of the STAR program. For 36 years, they have been able to recognize and honor remarkable students and their teachers in Baldwin County. The event was also sponsored by the Milledgeville Exchange Club and the Rotary Club of Milledgeville.

Diana Cazacu has been active in 4-H for nearly eight years and has gotten into theatre while attending BHS. Her endeavors have not only been impressive at the high school level but also in college as a dual enrollment student. She has received the Dean’s Excellence and Merit scholarships while attending Georgia College. Cazacu plans on attending either GC or the University while BHS's co-STAR student Johnny Pulliam has been named to the honor roll while in high school and calls his father his biggest motivator. So much so, that Pulliam plans on attending Georgia College to major in nursing just as his father did.

The PAGE Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) program is sponsored, administered and promoted by the Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE) and the PAGE Foundation. Since its creation, the STAR program has honored nearly 28,000 students and the teachers they have selected as the most influential to their academic achievement. High school seniors must have the highest score on a single test date on the SAT and be in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of their class based on grade point average to qualify for STAR nomination. Every accredited high school in Georgia is eligible to participate in this preeminent student/teacher academic recognition.