• Felicia Cummings

BCSD Celebrates Local School Board Members

Updated: Mar 17

The Baldwin County School District is joining in a statewide celebration this week to salute the efforts of our local school board members. The week of March 15-19 has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. The week-long observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education. As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system, and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools. They must study, evaluate, and decide what actions are in the best interest of students.

The Baldwin County Board of Education has been recognized by the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) as a 2020 Exemplary Board. This is the fourth year in a row that the Board has received this recognition for exceeding the criteria set forth by GSBA and showcasing best practices in school governance and leadership. Baldwin County was one of 56 school boards in Georgia to earn this prestigious award.

The Baldwin County School Board consists of the following school board members:

Dr. Gloria Wicker (District 1)

Ms. Shannon D. Hill (District 2)

Mr. Lyn Chandler (District 3)

Mr. John Jackson, Vice-Chair (District 4)

Mr. Wes Cummings, Chair (District 5)

Please join us in thanking our school board members for their dedication and commitment to the Baldwin County School District.

23 views0 comments
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Contact Us


© Copyright 2016 

Baldwin County Schools

Phone: 478-453-4176

Fax: 478-457-3327

110 North ABC St.

Milledgeville, GA 31061

The Baldwin County School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, genetics, disability, or sex in its employment practices, student programs and dealings with the public. It is the policy of the Board of Education to comply fully with the requirements of Title IX, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Americans with Disabilities Act and all accompanying regulations.