• BCSD

BCSD Celebrates School Board Appreciation Week

The Baldwin County School District is joining in a statewide celebration to acknowledge the work and dedication of local school board members. The week of March 14-18, 2022, has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. This weeklong observance calls attention to the positive contributions made by local boards of education. Baldwin County’s board members are elected to represent our community’s voice on education matters. They invest countless hours fulfilling their responsibilities and working together to continually pursue excellence in our school district and community.

The Baldwin County School Board has been recognized by the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) as an Exemplary School Board for six years in a row for its exemplary leadership and dedication to education. The Board exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn the honor of the 2021 Exemplary Board. Board of Education members currently serving our school district are:

Mr. Wes Cummings, (District 5)

Mr. John N. Jackson, Board Chair (District 4)

Dr. Gloria Wicker, Board Vice-Chair (District 1)

Ms. Shannon D. Hill (District 2)

Mr. Lyn Chandler (District 3)

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system, and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate, and decide what actions are in the best interest of students.

Please join us in thanking our school board members for their dedication and commitment to our school district and community.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All