top of page

Congratulations to the 2020 Cohort of REACH Scholars

Congratulations to the 2020 cohort of REACH Scholars: Heymi Arguello Espinoza, Hannah Dawson, Eboni McKnight, Nasir Giles, and Kaitlyn Teague.

REACH (Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen) is the State of Georgia’s first needs-based mentorship and college scholarship program. The mission is to ensure that Georgia’s academically promising students have the academic, social, and financial support needed to graduate from high school, access college and achieve postsecondary success.

Beginning in the 8th grade and through high school, REACH Scholars are paired with a mentor and an academic coach. Scholars must maintain good grades (2.5+ HOPE Calculated GPA), behavior and attendance. Scholars who successfully complete the program and graduate from high school are awarded a $10,000 scholarship ($2,500/year) that can be used at a HOPE-eligible University System of Georgia, Technical College System of Georgia, or private postsecondary institution. If the REACH Scholars attend a partner college or university such as Georgia College, Central Georgia Technical College or Georgia Military College, they will receive a $20,000 scholarship. The scholarship is in addition to any other grant or scholarship the student receives.

The REACH Signing Ceremony is scheduled for December 15 at Oak Hill Middle School. At the signing day ceremony, much how athletes commit to colleges for sports programs, our REACH scholars will be committing to the meeting or exceeding, the rigorous academic and behavioral standards that are outlined in the program.

If you or your organization are interested in exploring the many ways you can support the REACH Scholarship Program, all you need to do is contact our board office or visit the Baldwin Charter School System Foundation for Excellence online at

122 views0 comments


bottom of page