top of page

BCSD Holds May Board Meeting Recognitions

On Tuesday, May 9th, BCSD held its monthly Board of Education Meeting. Congratulations to the following Baldwin County staff and students who were recognized for their accomplishments!

Recognition of the Finance Department for receiving an Unmodified Audit (No Findings)

Recognition of Retired Educators

Otto "Arlin" Brown – 26 Years was recognized

Joyce Burgess – 13 Years was recognized

Benjamin Dotson – 17 Years was recognized

Donna Epps – 27 Years

Teresa Eubanks – 30 Years was recognized

Cynthia Goodson – 5 Years was recognized

Barbara Hilson – 22 Years was recognized

Dr. Sharon Hunt-Simmons – 29 Years

Cheryl Johnson – 29 Years

Desiree King – 31 Years was recognized

Bruce Knighton – 10 Years

Wanda Lambert – 10 Years was recognized

Tracy McDaniel – 22 Years was recognized

Jacqueline Oliver – 19 Years was recognized

David Ruff – 27 Years was recognized

Kelly Smith – 7 Years was recognized

Marla Smith – 30 Years was recognized

Pamela Tindal – 21 Years was recognized

Recognition of National Nurses Week

Marilyn French, Nurse for Midway Hills Primary

Emlyn Williams, Nurse at Midway Hills Academy

Kalandria Leslie, Nurse at Lakeview Academy

Beatrice Clark - Nurse at Baldwin High School

Brandi Resha - Lakeview Primary

Shareka Bonner-Moore, Nurse at Oak Hill Middle School was also recognized

Recognition of the Baldwin High School Class of 2023 Valedictorian, Elaine Abella and Salutatorian Xuan Yang

Recognition of Baldwin County School District and Music Educators for receiving the National Recognition for Best Communities For Music Education from the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) for the 8th Year in a row

Trent Henderson, Oak Hill Middle School

Sarah Clegg, Midway Hills Primary

Elise Allen, Oak Hill Middle School

Robyn Meeks, Midway Hills Academy

Christopher Ryles, Baldwin High School

James McMillan, Baldwin High School

Jay Wucher, BCSD Consultant

Megan Ostrat, Baldwin High School

Recognition of Oak Hill Middle School Band for earning superior ratings at the Georgia Music Educators (GMEA) District 11 Middle School Honor Band and the South Georgia Region Band Competition

Kiesten Stanley- District 11 honor band; region band

Samiyah Todd- District 11 honor band

Solo and Ensemble Performance (superior rating)

Serenity Brown

Ella Brynteson was also recognized

Derrick Butts was also recognized

Talia Davis

Jade Forde was also recognized

Winter Ingram was also recognized

Taylor Myrick

Everett Smith was also recognized

Charmise Thurmond was also recognized

Samiyah Todd was also recognized

Recognition of Oak Hill Middle School, Lakeview Primary, Midway Hills Primary, Lakeview Academy, and Midway Hills Academy for being officially designated as a "No Place for Hate School"

Midway Hills Academy

Midway Hills Primary

Lakeview Academy

Oak Hill Middle School

Recognition of the Superintendent's Student Advisory Council Members for their Years of Service

Recognition of Baldwin High School and Oak Hill Middle School Chef Competition Winners

2nd Place - The Pro Chefs - Recipe: Spicy Southern Fried Cabbage Participants: Keniya Green, Sryiah Fraley, Ferdinand Farly and Epiphane Woods Advisors: Seticia Smith and A'Keti Mayweather

3rd Place - The Brave Leaders - Recipe: Fruit Salad - participants Samuel Yates, Amuryial Paschal, Dasis Parham, Raniyyja Brooks and Kharsyn Ellison Advisors: Seticia Smith and Jme Dunlow

Baldwin High School did not place but was 1 of 5 competitors in the High School Final Competition. They were 1 of 5 out of 28 different schools that competed.

Recognition of Oak Hill Middle School boys and girls soccer team for winning the CSRA Middle School Soccer Championship

For the third straight year, the Oak Hill Middle school boys soccer team has won the CSRA middle school championship. The team finished the regular season with a record of 4-2.

The girls middle school soccer team won the CSRA championship for the first time finishing the season undefeated.

May Pursuit of Excellence Winners