March Board Recognitions


The Baldwin County School District is joining in a statewide celebration to salute the efforts of local school board members. The week of March 15-19 has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. The week-long observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education. As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system, and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools. They must study, evaluate, and decide what actions are in the best interest of students.

The Baldwin County Board of Education has been recognized by the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) as a 2020 Exemplary Board. This is the fourth year in a row that the Board has received this recognition for exceeding the criteria set forth by GSBA and showcasing best practices in school governance and leadership. Baldwin County was one of 56 school boards in Georgia to earn this prestigious award. Please join us in thanking our school board members for their dedication and commitment to the Baldwin County School District.

The Baldwin County School Board consists of the following school board members:

Mr. Wes Cummings, Chair (District 5)

Mr. John Jackson, Vice-Chair (District 4)

Dr. Gloria Wicker (District 1)